Help with Nikon camera

kathy65

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am trying to learn my camera, Nikon Coolpix L620, and I am frustrated and looking for ideas. I am basically teaching myself photography so I am a beginner.
I want to take some photos of my daughter in law (maternity), and be able to use the Bokeh effect on them. Problem is, this model will not let you change any aperture. I tried the Macro and Portrait setting, being close to object and background a distance away. Still nothing.

Any ideas how achieve this with the camera I have?

Also, can someone explain to me what image mode does? I have different settings and tried them all and I see no difference.

It's EXTREMELY difficult to use a point & shoot camera and create beautiful out-of-focus background blur.

"Bokeh" refers to the quality of the blur (and not necessarily the strength of it). But in photography, we can create an out-of-focus blur by having a subject at close focusing distance, a background which is far beyond the subject, using a lens with a long focal length, and using a low focal ratio. All of those properties contribute to the strength of the blur, but the quality of the blur is largely a property of the shape of the lens aperture (how many aperture blades does the lens have and are they well-rounded?) and the quality of the glass.

If you used a DLSR... Say a Nikon D3300, and you used a lens with a slightly long-ish focal length and low focal ratio such as a Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 lens (or an 85mm f/1.4 would be even better!)

Here are examples of Nikon's 50mm f/1.4 glass: Full-size sample photos from Nikon 50mm F 1.4