Hertz - is this even possible? (And everybody else too) :)

Matt, are you sure 150mm is the equivlant focal length for 4x5? I've been using a 135mm Ektar on my Linhof Kardan for like, 5 years now and I've always thought that was the Equivlant FL... If not, I'm glad none of my employers noticed it :p

the (almost) un-hand holdable size of 4x5 makes it seem very different.

I dunno, I had fun with a 4x5 Technika once, that that was pretty holdable 8)

Large format is for use with still life/landscape.

Come again? I RARELY shoot a portrait in anything BUT LF... But I guess I'm just a large format purist! :p

Shutterbug said:
Matt, are you sure 150mm is the equivlant focal length for 4x5? I've been using a 135mm Ektar on my Linhof Kardan for like, 5 years now and I've always thought that was the Equivlant FL... If not, I'm glad none of my employers noticed it :p

I dunno, I had fun with a 4x5 Technika once, that that was pretty holdable 8)

Come again? I RARELY shoot a portrait in anything BUT LF... But I guess I'm just a large format purist! :p

I used to use a 180 as standard. The standard lens is the same as the film diagonal, but a bit either way is neither here nor there.

As for using LF for portraits - of course you can use it. Studio photographers used LF as standard for portraits up to the 1950's. But the drawbacks make it a bit cumbersome and MF is much easier. But there is always someone who likes to use a hammer to crack a nut ;)

150mm seems just on the wide side to me for 4x5. I think it's closer to the angle of view that you get with a 40mm lens using the 35mm format. 135mm is definately wide angle for 4x5, probably similar to 35mm focal length with 35mm film. 180mm is probably closer to "normal", but I've always been told that 150mm is normal. I'm with Hertz: "normal" focal length = the measure of the format diagonally across from corner to corner.