Homelessness in B&W. I am just getting into photography, tell me what you think.

503Amateur

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm pretty new to the whole photography game, so I could use some do's and don'ts in respect to my pictures. This was a candid shot of a homeless guy(Ray was his name) under a bridge in Salem, Oregon so this was on the spot with no preparation or setup. By the way, I'm a Tpf virgin, so be gentle.

$DSC_2349.jpg

No. While it may make for an interesting shot, is it ethical? I vote no.

To me, it doesn't capture the essence of a homeless person. It could easily be a guy in a coat standing around. Which is what I see.

What's the difference in shooting a homeless guy hanging out vs. a rich guy outside a cafe hanging out? Homeless people are people too and deserve to be in candids as much as the next guy. Especially if you shoot them in that kind of light...as people.

What's the difference in shooting a homeless guy hanging out vs. a rich guy outside a cafe hanging out? Homeless people are people too and deserve to be in candids as much as the next guy. Especially if you shoot them in that kind of light...as people.

There is nothing wrong with it, if you are shooting them because they are a person. if you are shooting them because they are homeless OR because they are rich, it's exploitation. Just my opinion. I wouldn't feel right about it.

Besides the "homeless" issue, how is it candid when he's looking straight at the camera and appears to know you are taking his picture? Was the camera hidden? This looks like a portrait.

While I don't see "homelessness" (as is put into the title) in this photo, and maybe not "candidness", other than that this photo was not set up with lights and more, I still do see solidly good photography with regards to lighting, settings, use of background, composition and expression.