How important is a bubble-level for your tripod head?

splproductions

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just bought the Manfrotto 055XB tripod and the 391RC2 head.

Manfrotto Classic Tripod - Black - 055 Series
Manfrotto 3-Way Aluminum Photo Video Head with QR 200PL-14 Plate - Three Way

Am I going to regret not having a level on the head? I'm just getting into photography, so I'm not really sure how crucial that is. Most of what I do is landscape, and now that I have kids, family portraits, family events, etc. (I also really want a head that allows me to do video). I've been taking point-and-shoot photos for years and never really seemed to have an issue with keeping my photos straight, and anything that was noticeably off I've just adjusted in Photoshop.

Should I consider getting a different head, or will I be fine without a level?

They make bubble levels that clip into the hotshoe. You may want to look into one of those.

Some people never use it, others do. It's just a personal preference type thing. Personally, I use mine all the time.

I will say though that the kind that go in the hotshoe are more useful. The one on the tripod head does nothing for you in portrait orientation...

I think most of the time I'm going to have my Speedlight attached to the hotshoe.

Then why do you need a tripod?

Sorry, but if you're using on camera flash, I can't think of very many situations where you would also need a tripod...

Lol... true. There will be a fair amount of situations though where I'm taking family photos and I'll be triggering the camera with a remote. I guess those are probably the only situations where I'd use the flash with the tripod... any photo that I'm in.

I'm guessing then that a level probably won't be too crucial for me, and if I need one I can get the hotshoe ones.