How much money have you invested?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rwilliams

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I was talking to another local photographer the other day and she told me that in the past year, she has invested $28,000 into her photography business (portraits, weddings, events). This is her first year in photography and even after her investments, I personally don't see any quality in her photography and certainly would not hire her.

That being said, I'm also in my first year and have a lot to learn, but I can't imagine investing that much money this early.

So, this spiked my curiosity... How much money have you invested into your photography business? Over what period of time? And did you get a business loan to help with these investments?

There is no necessary correlation that I can see between investment into a photography business and quality of photography.
I could go out now and buy lots of stuff, including advertising and bricks and mortar stuff, that wouldn't make my photography any better.

I would estimate that I've spent about $4,000 on photography stuff in the last 2 years. I am just starting my third year.

Doing some math in my head.... I think I have about $2500 invested. That includes my camera, gear, website and some classes. I'm going into my third year.

ETA: I'm non in business... I take the odd job now and again.

Last edited:
I agree. I really just couldn't understand where $28,000 would even go in just one year.

There is no necessary correlation that I can see between investment into a photography business and quality of photography.
I could go out now and buy lots of stuff, including advertising and bricks and mortar stuff, that wouldn't make my photography any better.