How often should a camera be serviced?

bbaker35

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Again Everyone...

I'm still relatively new to photography with about a year of taking pictures. I bought my Canon 350D about 11 months ago, and am wondering if I should have it serviced to keep it in tip top shape. I do use my camera alot and it has traveled with me all over the world. In the last year I have taken about 7500 pictures with it, (I use the continous counter so I can see how many I've shot) and am wondering how everyone takes care of theirs.

Even though it would be extremely hard for me to part with it for very long, I feel like it should be cleaned or services so she keeps going and going. Is there a place everyone sends theirs? Should I take it to a camera shop somewhere? What should I do when I get closer to a year later this summer?

Thanks for all your help.
Ben

There are two schools of thought.One is to service a camera based on the manufacturer's recommendations.The other is best expressed by the engineer's philosophy: never open something up to see why it's running right.

Torus34 said:
never open something up to see why it's running right.
:lmao:

I was actually wondering the same thing though. I guess it also depends on how much you change lenses. I would think if you don't have more than one lens (like me :( ) that things would run for a long time. I always get nervous when I change a lens though... its like looking at the guts and going.. What in the air right now is going to mess up my pictures in the future?

OK maybe I should have been more clear about my question. It wasn't, When should I have the camera "tuned-up" like taking it apart and messing with stuff. I meant, when should I have it thoroughly and professionally cleaned? I have had it a year and switch lenses very often. After about a year I think it should be about time for a good cleaning, but then again what do I know anyways?

bbaker35 said: