how to get the best photos from iPhone 4S

sanlen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

I am the newbie here as well as in photographing.

I am planning to have a trip to the top of a mountain sometime in two weeks. Normally, it is foggy on the top of that mountain early in the morning and we can see sun shine normally after 8AM. I want to get some good photos once i get there and i will be using my iPhone 4S to capture them. The photos will be developed in 13x18 or a bit bigger size.

Here, i am looking for some tips of how to get the best pictures out of my iPhone 4S. I have been trying some applications for iPhone such as Camera+ & 645 Pro, however, i seem could not get what i want.

Your advise will be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
sanlen

Don't worry about it. It's just a phone camera.

Do you think serious photogs would spend thousands of $ on gear if they could get the same results with a phone?

Here, i am looking for some tips of how to get the best pictures out of my iPhone 4S. I have been trying some applications for iPhone such as Camera+ & 645 Pro, however, i seem could not get what i want.

Well, what do you want?

One thing that helps the iPhone a lot IMHO is to used your headphones as a trigger.

The iPhone as a camera has three flaws: 1) really small sensor 2) lack of manual controls and 3) awkward shape

The really small sensor won't be a big deal for you, actually, since you'll be taking landscape style shots and thus won't need to control DOF. The lack of manual controls sucks, especially given that you can't shoot in RAW either, to be able to edit the photos, but there's not much you can do about it.