How to go from this to that?

HeatherW

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I photographed this purple dress by the window. The original photo is nothing spectacular as I am not really good at photography. I want it to look more professional/commercial looking, member of another photo forum took my photo and did something really amazing to it to make it look so much prettier and a lot more presentable than what it was. Does anyone know how he did it? Can Photoshop alone achieve it? Thank you in advance!

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a147/bemyhost/MVC-798S-1.jpg
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a147/bemyhost/william.jpg

Heather

they erased the background behind the lady and added the design to the right and the color change on the left. they also rounded the corners of picture and added that chineese symbol/writing. Photoshop can do this easily.

Thank you mykill ~ do you think you can teach me how to do that step by step? I use Photoshop CS, but I am not good at it. I use PS mostly for cropping, resizing, and some level and curves. If you could show me how to use a new pattern/background to replace an old one, that would be great. Thank you in advance.

Heather

im not all that good with PhotoShop (i use PaintShop Pro more), but changing a background isnt too difficult. you can find a background you like and add the first image you posted as a new layer over it, then use the eraser tool to erase the old background. im sure there are faster ways of doing it, but thats how i do stuff like that.

as for the chinese writing, im not sure if they used a font, or a graphic for that. if its a font, you just use the font tool. if its a graphic, you just add it as a new layer and positon it where you want it. you can also erase anything from that layer that you dont want in the final picture.

when you have the background and text the way you want it, and the final image is to your liking, you flatten (merge) the layers and save it in whatever format you need.