Howdy and a question

hotfoot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi folks,

Big fan of your site and generosity. I'm a novice photographer that is trying to shoot my girlfriend's jewelry collection. Incredibly challenging. I've tested all manner of lighting and setups to try and get a perfectly white background with no luck. So I'm stuck airbrushing in Lightroom. If anyone has tips on how to achieve the brilliant white bg, I'd be very interested.

Today's question concerns image quality. I am using a Nikon D3000 with a 18-55 lens shooting bracelets at F30 at 36mm. The pictures are coming out with a sandy colored background that I have to airbrush out. Very tedious and not giving perfect results. I would love them to come out like the jewelry on Blu Nomad | Kate Davis Jewelry. The imagery there is super clean and clear. Any idea how they achieved this?

I am attaching a picture I took of a black pearl bracelet. It has been heavily airbrushed in Lightroom. The gold color is somewhat close to what Kate Davis achieves but if you zoom in the image lacks the crisp, sharpness. Is that a lighting, camera, or me issue? Do I need a macro lens? Longer lens? Better camera?

Thank you for your time.

HF

$DSC_0200.jpgView attachment 56408View attachment 56409

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello and welcome to the forum!

Glad to have you with us!

Welcome to the forum.

They look OK at this size, but one problem is certainly that you are shooting at F30. Once you get to around F16, diffraction starts to visibly degrade your image quality. It does differ from one lens to another, but in most cases, the closer you are to F8, the higher your quality can be.