I am looking to buy a new SLR camera!

emik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am seeking advice from an expert regarding buying a SLR camera. I have never used one before but I really enjoy taking pictures when I travel. My current Lumix is okay but I want better focus and quality. I want to know when is the best time to buy a camera, in terms of deals (also where to buy them). Also, which camera(s) are the best price and quality wise, because I don't want to spend a lot of money as a beginner.

Thanks you for your time!

Since you have the Internet, you can research which is the best one for you. The part about " I want a DSLR" but do not want to spend a lot of money, but want better quality, ruins your question. They all focus as well as your eyes can see.

If you are looking to buy a Nikon 35mm SLR then get a N80, F100 or a F5. If you are wanting a DSLR (digital) then get a D7000 or a D700. If money is a issue get a D3100. For a DX lens, Nikon's 35mm 1.8 is a good all purpose lens. For shooting Film or FX a 17-35mm 2.8 and a 70-200mm 2.8 is a good basic setup. You can't go wrong with a 50mm 1.4 either.

... or Canon 550D, 60D or up depending on your budget. Or Pentax. Or...

Best thing is to try them: they give more or less the same quality (depending on how much you spend), so don't be fooled by brand fans, choose the one that best fit your hands, with menus that best fit your mind. Basics of dSLR are always the same and are a major step from a compact camera (provided you want to do some manual work).

I do not think there is a true answer for best price and quality. Actually, it is better for you to set a budget. Then look for cameras that are within your budget. (new or used)

You may have questions during your researching. Feel free to come back and ask.

Do go to a local store (if any) and check out the cameras in person. And dpreview.com is a great camera review site.