I can't decide what to buy...Canon 60D or Nikon D90?

allinschenk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This will be my first DSLR purchase. I've been using a Panasonic Lumix FZ35, but looking for something that I will be able to grow with for the next two years or so. My main interest is in shooting outdoor portraits, mainly of children. I'm also interested in shooting weddings down the road. I'd like to be under $1500 and plan to purchase a 50mm/1.8 lens with whatever DSLR I end up choosing. I've handled both Canon and Nikon, but still can't seem to make up my mind. Both the Canon 60D and Nikon D90 seem like good candidates, but which would be better for my use? Anyother suggestions would be of help as well.

Im new to this but brought a D90 as my first SLR and love it. I didnt want the best camera just wanted something i could learn with and one day upgrade. You could look at the new D7000 its about your buget and just came out. And that would be good for years and you would not need to upgrade down the road you could get a D90 and a lens for that price just a thought john.

I get the D90 because Nikon is so much better then Canon...just a joke no nikon/canon fights. :hug:: But I do have a D90 and like it a lot. I would get the D90 over the D7000 for your first DSLR. And it's a whole lot cheaper. You can use that money you saved and get better 'glass'. :thumbup: Can't comment on the Canon.

you need to compare them both, then decide,its your camera,not other peoples, ive gone for Canon as the erganomics feel better in by hand,all the buttons are where i want them,

But look at the difference at both of them,
Canon 60D Supports a 18mp Digic4 Sensor,Iso expandable to 128000
Shutter speeds of 1/8000 - 30 secs and 5.4fps

Nikon D90 offers a 12.3mp sensor,iso expandable to 6400
Shutter speed of 1/4000 - 30secs and 4.5fps