i have a canon rebel xs with lenses can i get a 35mm that will fit the same lenses?

jcooper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i'm a freshman photography major at columbia college, i have a new canon rebel xs with a standard lense and a portrait lense. i need a 35mm camera for my darkroom class. i have already invested so much money into the DSLR, i that i would so prefer to have a camera with interchangeble lense options. i've been told that canon notoriously changes the sizes and whatnot of their lense mounts. am i going to have to get over it and just buy a whole new camera with totally different lenses? :grumpy: help me out!

Yup, Canon has changed lens mounts quite a bit in the past. Most likely, you won't be able to use your lenses, and even if they did fit, if they're EF-S lenses then they won't work with a 35mm camera anyway.

I recently bought a Canon eos 500N (35 mm film 1993 version) that has an EF Mount, so i only have 1 Ef-s lens (the original kit lens for my 450D / XSI) and i have (so far) 2 ef lens (75-300 and a 50mm, saving up for a 28 - 70mm thus i can cover the full spectrum... almost)
Also the Canon eos 500N is semi-Digital
It has all the same PRIMARY functions as a digital, but rights to film (thus lacks a back LCD screen but has one on the top to view ISO, Aperture, Shutter, number of frames left etc..)