I have a question about the Nikon D3100

PineappleDood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Im new here and its my first time posting. I bought this Nikon D3100 a while back but have just started getting into it for real. I have a question about the shutter speed, aperture size and the lighting. I want to take pics with long shutter speed so that the picture have a motion/blurring effect but every time I try, the pic is completely white or pretty much all white. I want the speed to be 2 seconds or longer but whenever its that long, the aperture size changes with the speed and I cant figure out how to separate the two. I need some photographers help.

what mode are you shooting in? you might want to consider shooting in manual for longer shutter speeds so you can set you ISO low, your aperture small, and still keep your shutter speed long. if you are shooting in aperture, shutter priority, or AUTO, the camera will automatically adjust the other settings for what it considers proper exposure. the only way to control all three settings yourself is to shoot in manual.

You're probably shooting in some program mode, right? Maybe you have the dial on "S" so you can set the shutter speed, and the camera sets the aperture to match?

At some point the camera is going to have the aperture squeezed down all the way, it cannot make the opening any smaller. At this point, your shutter speed is still too long -- it's going to let in light for such a long TIME that even though the aperture is very small, too much light will fall on the sensor. The picture will be over-exposed.

Step 1: make sure that your ISO is set to the lowest sensitivity, 100 on the D3100. This will set the sensor up to be able to take as much light as possible before overexposing.
Step 2: adjust your shutter speed down until the pictures start looking better.
Step 3: will that suit you? Is the shutter speed long enough?