I Need Help deciding On Which To Buy

tkaat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am really new to taking photo's but wanna start off with a good camera so that I won't have to buy another one in a year or two. I was thinking of purchasing either the Olympus E-410 or Nikon D40x. They both are in my price range but the Olympus is a better buy for me for I can Get it with two lenses (14-42 & 40-150) for $509. But i still can't choose :confused:. Which one is a better investment?

I am really new to taking photo's but wanna start off with a good camera so that I won't have to buy another one in a year or two. I was thinking of purchasing either the Olympus E-410 or Nikon D40x. They both are in my price range but the Olympus is a better buy for me for I can Get it with two lenses (14-42 & 40-150) for $509. But i still can't choose :confused:. Which one is a better investment?

Instead of D40x it is better off to D60, otherwise just stick with cheaper D40 (without X without it) like mine, trust worthy little midget. Olympus is really nice camera, but let others explain it first to you about their format, I think it called 2/3 or 3/4 or something.

Anyone knows about olympus format?

Your talking about the four thirds system, im unfamiliar with it.

I say get a D40, much more bang for your buck then then d40x. Then get the 18-55mm lens, and the 55-200mm one.

Yeah, the 'Four/Thirds' system, enables the design of much smaller and lighter cameras than the 'regular' dSLRs. Crop factor is 2x. Olympus developed it, I believe, and Panasonic and one other major brand, but I forget now..., have adopted it too. There are pros and cons. 4/3s enables smaller, lighter, and optically remarkably capable optics. Olympus' trademark since its inception a century ago, I think.