I need some help..

Khailie_Amae

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
im noob here and im just wonderin if someone can give me a couple advice..

what is the best camera i can buy with about $1000.???

i recently bought the canon 350D SLR - 8megapixels, beautiful camera... for $1420aus including a twin lens kit 18-55mm and 75-300mm... and i'm loving it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 xx

Look at the Canon Digital Rebel XT, the Nikon D50 or the Nikon D70s. There are also some entry level DSLR cameras from Pentax & Sony (formerly Minolta).

Go into a camera shop and hold them in your hands, try the menus and play with them as much as they will let you. If a camera feels good in your hands, that is more important that comparing all the little details of one camera vs. another.

I recently bought a Canon Rebel XT too and I really like it. It is my first SLR so I really don't have much to compare. I have heard basicaly nothing but good about it plus I paid a lot less than you have to spend. I got mine from Dell for about $590 for the kit, you have to watch for the sales though. I got my camera in May and they just had another sale about a week ago but it was the silver one. I agree that it is best to see how the samera fits your hand and which feels best but not everyone has that opportunity. Where I am from, we have no camera stores and the best I could do was go to Walmart and hold the Rebel. Good luck and keep your eyes open, something will pop up.

he didn't say he wanted a digtal camera...:D
The best camera you can have for 1000$ is a Leica M2 or M3 with a Summicron 2/50 or Elmar 2.8/50 or Summaron 2.8/35 lens on it, if you are patient, on ebay (which seems quite over-priced nowaydays) or (even better) in a shop.
You'll keep it for (at least) 20 years, or tilll the end of film. The camera is eastetically perfect, and "great" is too weak a word if you want to describe the lens quality.
Besides, it's incredibly quiet and everybody will assume you're a great professional photog;