i7 upgrade from i5

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by The_Traveler, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. The_Traveler

    The_Traveler Completely Counter-dependent Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    18,584
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic US
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I currently use an i5-750 and occasionally get messages of high CPU activity - and some PS processes take time to execute.

    Will an upgrade to i7 with same socket (1156) make any discernible difference?

    TIA,
    Lew


     
  2. o hey tyler

    o hey tyler Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,783
    Likes Received:
    2,722
    Location:
    Maine
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, the difference is 2, Lew. I mean, I5 to I7. There you go! Two!

    So, two times better, right? That's how it works isn't it? ;-)

    #logic

    PS. I really would try to answer this question, but I'm out of touch with PC's as of late. I'll shoot my computer guru dad an email, if I hear back sooner before someone interjects I'll let you know.
     
  3. The_Traveler

    The_Traveler Completely Counter-dependent Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    18,584
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic US
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    thanks, Tyler.
    I'm afraid that the socket is gen 1 and that will limit my choices but I have so much that works on this board (16 gb ram) etc, I hate to start from scratch with a new board that require different kinds of memory.
     
  4. SnappingShark

    SnappingShark Always learning. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    United States, PNW
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You should see some performance gains.

    You may get anywhere upto .37 Ghz extra and potentially more threads (8 over 4) - so depending on the application (and how its written - and how it uses the threads) ... YMMV
     
  5. o hey tyler

    o hey tyler Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,783
    Likes Received:
    2,722
    Location:
    Maine
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Here's what he said Lew:

    So is there a large processing difference between I5 to an I7?
    3 mins
    Tyler Drumm
    Jeff Drumm
    Kind of depends on what you're using it for. An i7 has, effectively, 8 cores and an i5 has 4.
    Jeff • 1 min

    So for photo editing, do you think there would be less of a CPU strain if there was an I7?
    I'm asking for a friend, I'm not particularly familiar with them
    Now
    Tyler Drumm
    Jeff Drumm
    Image and video processing would benefit from more cores, as long as the OS and software are designed to take advantage of them.
    Jeff • Now

    Okay, perfect. Thanks for the help!

    So I guess it boils down to if the OS is capable of leveraging the extra cores or not, which I suppose is a whole other can of worms.
     
  6. o hey tyler

    o hey tyler Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,783
    Likes Received:
    2,722
    Location:
    Maine
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I take it when you say that the socket is 1st Gen that means that it's not upward compatible with an I7? Because that's kinda what I'm gathering via the research...
     
  7. table1349

    table1349 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    4
    Before you try the upgrade you need to check and see what is causing your high CPU usage. Check the Task Monitor and see what the problem is. You may be able to help the issues by killing off those unneeded high CPU hog applications.
     
  8. The_Traveler

    The_Traveler Completely Counter-dependent Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    18,584
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic US
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    There are i7 versions for that socket - just not as many as for gen 2 sockets.
     
  9. o hey tyler

    o hey tyler Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,783
    Likes Received:
    2,722
    Location:
    Maine
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Clearly you know more than myself about this topic. I am so out of touch since the pentium 4 came out.
     
  10. The_Traveler

    The_Traveler Completely Counter-dependent Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    18,584
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic US
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    No, just have an app that reads my system and tells me what is going on.
    I am a bit leery of removing the CPU cooler and replacing it but what can I lose but all the electronics.
     
  11. TCampbell

    TCampbell Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    1,554
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    It sounds like you need one of those Mac Pros that come with dual hexacore Xeon E5 processors and max'd out graphics cards. I think it's only about $10k. Buy two so you can keep one in your vacation home. ;-)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. DandL

    DandL TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    California
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit


    Your mainboard uses DDR 3 RAM, as do the current socket 1150 boards. The main concern regarding the RAM is the physical size. Most mainboards take memory modules that are around 5" in length, but there are mini boards that take laptop memory. If your mainboard is a standard size, you can replace it with a standard size socket 1150 and your RAM will work. That said, if your current computer is a Dell or HP, then all bets are off. They usually use proprietary boards...
     

Share This Page