Ideas and Neccessities for New Studio?

JessicaBlair

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My husband and I are purchasing a new building. One big enough for his office and shop (he has a used car dealership), which also has a room that is 17 x 28 ft for me to use as a studio. I am brand new to the photography business and am taking this to a whole new level with having my own studio. My questions are, what are the absolute neccessities to have? And what are some good suggestions on set up and wall colors, and flooring types??? On one wall (28ft) there are two big windows and a big double doors. On one of the 17 ft walls there is two separate doors in one corner (they are right next to each other) And there is another door on the other 17ft door. Thanks for ANY ideas and input!!

Post a picture if you can that way is easier for people to know exactly how it looks.

Wow, that's a nice large space. How high are the ceilings? It's a real PITA if you don't have high enough ceilings.

What is absolutely necessary? A camera....that's about it. The rest is up to you and your creativity.

Of course, you may want lighting, backdrop, props. Depending on the type of photography you will be doing, you might want a dressing room/wash room. Maybe a gallery/client meeting/sales room.

I'd suggest getting a look at other photographer's studios. In person would be great but you can also search the web for photos.

I think that some common threads will be that photographers tend to make their studio to suit their style...and also adapt their style to work with what they have.

One theory/technique is to just get what you need for the job at hand. When you have a job that requires something more/extra...then that's when you add that bit of gear. Eventually you should have just about everything you need, and hopefully nothing that you don't need.