ideas for wildlife photog lens/sotware~

Devananda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
ok looking for a longer lens that not something like 6K....
i have a nikon 80-200 2.8 great lens but does not have the reach I would like.
has any one shoot whit the Sigma 170-500mm?
all so was looking in to TC but did not get much positive feedback on them.
is there any software out the for this??
just thinking all ways gota have a WISH LIST ..lOL
thanks every one!
Deva

in an ideal world every one could afford a F2.8 all the way up to 800mm....
and now back to reality..
looks like I will have to settle for something around 5.6-
have been looking at the Sigma 50-500MM as well as the 170-500mm

Personally, I'd go for a focal range that you don't have, you already have up to 200mm so I'd try to find something above that if it were cheaper. I'll have a quick check but I'm no expert. If the price difference was minimal between a 50-500mm lens that you mentioned:http://www.warehouseexpress.com/index.asp?photo/lenses/tamron.html#200500
then I'd be tempted to go for the 50-500mm as it's more versatile. I'd be wary of buying a lens covering such a wide range of focal lengths for a couple of reasons.
1: The image quality suffers at the extremes
2: If something goes wrong with the lens; theft, damage, ect... You've put all your eggs in one basket and you might lose all that money and a damn good lens. That could mean a long time without a lens. I would hate to be without a lens I used frequently for many subjects.
Don't let me put you off though.

http://www.warehouseexpress.com/index.asp?photo/lenses/tamron.html#200500
There's a tamron lens for £100 less, a smaller maximum aperture, though.

I was thinking the same however...the sigma 50-500mm gets better reviews than the 170-500mm. of course it's more $$$ to.
humm I will have to look in the that Tamron 200-500
maybe some one that has or had any of these lenses and chime in!