If you had to spend $1,000...

marie1128

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am getting about 12k dollars from an inheritance at the end of the month. I'd like to get some gear, books, programs, etc, that all equals out to be 1000 dollars. I'd like to stay with Canon products. I think I would like to get an editing program. I'm still fairly new to my camera, but I know it well enough to be confident when taking pictures. I take pictures of everything (daily life with my one year old, trying to do his one year pictures, vacations, etc.), and my signature says what I have.
If you recommend books, please be specific. Thanks!

I would buy John Hedgcoe's classic book, "Complete Guide To Photography", so you can learn how to see pictures, and how to find and identify types of lighting conditions, and learn the types of things that make up good photographs. SKIP all the new digital photography books that are basically recipe books, and learn the real, underlying "basics" of how pictures are made...if you need to learn how to run your specific camera model, the Canon instruction book is what you need to read.

Software? Buy Lightroom 5, and learn to use it.

There is a lot that you could do with $1,000 for photography. As far as editing, I would recomment Lightroom 5, that is about $175 and the rest I would look at getting some more glass.

I would buy John Hedgcoe's classic book, "Complete Guide To Photography", so you can learn how to see pictures, and how to find and identify types of lighting conditions, and learn the types of things that make up good photographs. SKIP all the new digital photography books that are basically recipe books, and learn the real, underlying "basics" of how pictures are made...if you need to learn how to run your specific camera model, the Canon instruction book is what you need to read.

Software? Buy Lightroom 5, and learn to use it.