I'm new, I have a lot of questions :)

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by BenjaminV, Oct 26, 2015.

1. BenjaminV

BenjaminV TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello everyone,

So, I'm new to photography. So far I'm having a lot of fun but I don't really know what I'm doing in the sense that I have, as I've been told, good gear that has a lot of potential that I'm hardly taping into.

I'm here because I have a lot of questions and if anyone feels compelled to answer them or some, it'll be much appreciated :)

I read that a lot of people run their pictures through software- What kind of software is best and where is it cheapest to buy? I looked up adobe lightroom and its very expensive...

I have a Canon 70D

Lenses :

Canon 24-105mm L lens

Canon EFS 10-18mm

Canon 40mm f.28 pancake

Canon 50mm f1.8

I've noticed that I like landscape photography a lot. Mostly because I'm intimidated by the idea of taking pictures of people I don't know - But when I get more knowledgeable and comfortable, I want to be able to do walk-around photography.

I am mostly using my camera in auto - ISO, shutter speed and aperture just go over my head - Or at least the idea of what I'm supposed to do with them all together - how does one know what looks better than what the camera selects automatically? - I think this is all due to my inexperience, but being that I'm a Virgo, this is where I'm stuck.

I took pictures this morning of the sunrise and they were extremely dark - I was using the Canon 10-18 that I just bought. it is a 4.5-5.6 IS STM so I know its not allowing too much light in- Is this where software editing steps in? Or are people just using the higher quality type L's?

I've read that most images go through editing, am I expecting too much out of my raw images?