I'm new to floral photography, so help :)

clarinetJWD

The Naked Spammer
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
jwdphotography.com
Anyways, here's my best attempt at floral photography, what can I do to this shot and what do I need to do in the future to improve?
Flowers.jpg

Not that I could do any better myself but I'd try using a ring light for these. There are a lot of shadows on the inside of the flower which, IMO, take away from the image a little. That and you could eliminate some of the background with a flash. That being said, it is still a wonderful picture. I just think it could be outstanding with a little more light.

What I saw first off was the out of focus Lily in the background. It's distracting to the flower in front. A little higher angle and a tighter crop would have let you take it out of the picture. The unopened flowers are ok though as they blend in with the background.

If you had tried for more of a side shot you could have gotten a good profile of the flower. Your shot here is square on and makes it look flat rather than having some depth to it. To help get a bit more light in the middle (per Hobbes above) you can take a reflector (sheet of foam board or an actual nylon cloth reflector) and bounce a bit of light back onto the flower. This will help light up the center. Don't over do it with the reflection or it will make the center too bright as compared to the rest of the flower.

With that said, you did a good job of getting the front flower in focus and it looks pretty close to properly exposed. A tad bit of boosted contrast might help to cause it to pop. But not bad at all.

Mike

in addition to the above comments, (it may be just me) but it bugs me when the just the tips of the petals are cropped off. If that's your first try... you're gonna be awesome, cuz this is a good shot!:)