I'm VERY new..Some help?

mrshaleyberg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok..I may sound super stupid, but there's a couple questions that I need answered. I'm not embarrassed to say I'm NEW to photography, but I am slowly getting more into it each day. I started out just taking pictures of my son, and now I'm moving on to other people.

Question #1 What exactly does shooting in "RAW" mean?

Question #2 Where can I learn more about aperture, f-stop, and all that jazz? Mainly I want to know how to shoot in manual so I don't feel so beginner, always using "Auto".

Question #3 Where can I get a cheap but good studio kit to start off with (lights, backdrop, etc)?

That's about all of my questions for now. Hope some of you can help me out!

Thanks so much!
Haley

1. RAW is an unprocessed image. Whether you see it or not, if you're shooting in JPG your camera is processing the image slightly internally. RAW files give you more info to work with when you're processing. Things that look pure white or pure black on JPG actually have some detail present that you can't see. Through post processing you can bring those details out.

2. [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-Exposure-Photographs-Digital-Updated/dp/0817463003/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1276022490&sr=8-1]Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson[/ame] Fantastic book. Easy to read, lots of examples, I learned a ton from him.

3. Something like this might work for you.

1.Shooting in Raw gives you way more control when PP. It takes up more space for each exposure but well worth it if you do PP. PP= Post Process. Just in case you did not know what that meant.