Improvement or point of stagnation?

23498608596_e4f75b233e_b.jpg

Went overboard on this one. Just a quick edit. Blurring background. I just wanted to say, me being a new guy here. I am a beginner and absolutely dont think I can do it any better. Im just trying to give my input and thats it. Im here to learn and absorb as much info as possible:)

I also believe you can learn from anybody...A master or a beginner. Each bring an often fresh perspective to things that you might have overlooked:)

Last edited:
I would try shoot with a different f-stop, make the background blur a little more, and the subject pop.

I think the OP is at the limit there.
they can spend more on a longer focal length f2.8 lens to get more background blur and get beyond "stagnation"

Hmmm? Interesting. I just saw that now. I seem to get a lot more separated background/foreground at f/4 or even f/5.6?... I shoot a lot of concert phtography and use mostly a 70-200 f/4 L lens....Get beautiful bokeh on that one?

Sadly Bokeh isn't in the dictionary for most things ;) It those up some odd autocorrections at times ;)

And yes I'm at the limit with my lens; but its also that the jumps most easily shot with less background/foreground distractions are also right at the edge of the arena; so there's very little actual difference in distance between subject and the wall. Shooting closer would increase the relative difference in the distances; but at the same time shooting closer means a much harder job to frame things as rider and horse rise up and move around a lot more.

Sadly its a weakness of the venue.

Went overboard on this one. Just a quick edit. Blurring background. I just wanted to say, me being a new guy here. I am a beginner and absolutely dont think I can do it any better. Im just trying to give my input and thats it. Im here to learn and absorb as much info as possible:)