In 'Noise' Hell

Saddlebreds4me

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

Disclaimer: I am a newbie with a new camera and a realize I have lots to learn. In fact, I am attending a two day Nikon school this weekend, which I believe will be a tremendous help.

As some of you know, I shoot mainly horses in motion and at this time of year it's usually in an indoor arena with floursecent and/or tungsten lighting. I do not use a flash (although I could if I wanted to, I just choose not to). I use a Nikkor f/2.8 80-200mm - an amazing lens for low light and fast action. I also use an expodisc to check and recheck my WB in the arena prior to shooting.

I cannot find a consistent setting for my camera and leaving it there. I'm having issues with the Manual Mode and I'm looking forward to someone helping me this weekend. Neither her nor there, I need to make sure shutter speed and ISO settings are all working together to get the least amount of noise as possible. I shoot in L Fine RAW - my camera body is a Nikon D700.

I can't post photos from my laptop (no idea why) but when I get to my desktop I could add a really noisy photo - maybe for some suggestions? I'm frustrated but I know some of that is simply lack of knowledge.

So I guess I am just looking for someone to talk noise with me - if you are out there.

Thanks!

there are some programs for noise reduction. Do you have lightroom? I know Lightroom has it built in.

You can try using Shutter or aperture mode which would compensate for changing light on the fly.

Also, with the D700, noise shouldn't be that big of an issue. Turn on NR or do it in post if it is that big of issue. What ISO are you using?

Jaszek - I do use Lightroom - I just got it recently so I'm just getting used to it. I've seen the manual adjustments you can make for noise, but I didn't realize there is a specific NR setting in lightroom - I will check it out - thank you!