Indoor sport - new lens or body

Flandrach

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi!

I own a Canon 550D camera, the kit lens EF-S 18-55mm and the Canon EF28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM.

My daughter is member of a dance school and they take part in dance competitions. Everyone in the dance school knows i am an amateur photographer and they count on me to take photos during the contests. What they don’t know is that it is very hard to take good pictures at the venues where these contests are held: indoor sport halls, community halls etc. mostly with those ugly yellow lightbulbs… So light is very very poor, and the dancers are moving very fast so i need fast shutter speed.

Anyway, I really need a good new lens, as for the moment my equipment is ‘poor’ (for indoor). This weekend i used my cousins 'Nifty Fifty' (50mm f/1.8) getting me far better results than my own two lenses. But here is my question, and it might sound stupid: how big a difference would it be if i take these indoor photos with a Canon 70-200 f2.8, or the 24-70 2.8 on my 550D body? Way better than the nifty?

Here a few of my pics: www.flickr.com/photos/flandrach/albums/72157667294361541

At these contests there is a photographer shooting with a Nikon D810 (but don’t know what lenses) and with his €2.500 body his photos are amazing (see www.jmphotography.be) compared to my €500 body. So i am really wondering if i have to consider to buy a new body + lens (my wife will kill me) or will my photos get a serious boost if i buy an expensive lens?

If it would make a big difference, than there is another big question but that one i will have to figure out on my own i suppose: range. I really would like to spend my money on a 70-200 but after shooting at many venues and shooting +5000 pics, i noticed that with the 50 mm i was often too close to the dancers. Winning the lotery and buy 2 lenses would be the best solution, but that’s not goiing to happen.