Interested in starting with classic Rangefinders...

cigrainger

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I know this is a path my wallet will end up hating, but I'm really jonesing for a Canon P (Populaire) with one of the early Canon (Leica Screwmount) RF 50mm f/1.4 lenses.

Do you guys know if the Canon P has the 16:9 Leica-style aspect ratio? I'm assuming it does, but nobody mentions it. Maybe because it's so obvious?

If so, how many exposures will this permit on a roll of 35mm that usually allows 24 or 36 exposures?

How about trying the Cannonette QL17 Glll?

It's an amazing little rangefinder and this from a Nikon guy! You should be able to pick one up for around $50 in good shape and then save you money for a Leica. Google is your friend.

mike

The results that I've seen from the Canon P with a good Canon RF-mount lens have been about 95% of a Leica IMO.

I'm a college student who is selling one of his guitars (worked a lot in high school and have a bit of cash invested in guitar gear, didn't get into photography until more recently), and I'd like something nice that I will be content with for the next few years, until I start pulling in a paycheck that might allow me to get whatever it is I want as far as photography (and guitar) goes.

I have a Pentax K100D and kit lens that my parents got me as an early birthday gift, and I just ordered an SMC-Pentax M 50mm f/1.7 lens. I learned on a Canon AE-1, but I'm going to get a Pentax K1000 so I can "streamline" my film and digital SLRs as far as getting some old glass goes.