Is Photography your Day Job or Hobby?

Like Scott, I have been taking photos since the mid 60's! I opened a studio in the early 80's, and did well. I closed it late, late 80s... due to being tired of 80 hour weeks, and some personal things going on, and moved to a different state. Didn't touch a camera again for several years. While shooting professionally, my hobby was computers... and I had done that on the side for a few clients. So Computers became my next career (all self taught.. just like the photography). I worked as a contractor for other companies until 2000, when I started my 2nd business. Again, did well... but shut it down in 2006 to keep it from being a point of contention in divorce (and again, was tired of 80 hour weeks! lol) Now I work in the corporate world! I have lots of pretty little certifications, and knowledge that goes back to systems that are extinct now. My title is systems administrator, and I babysit, patch, and modify about 6 different networks, 60 servers, built the company intranet, etc, etc...

and my hobby is photography (and cooking .. and yes, I have been paid to cook too! Used to help a buddy with a catering service when he needed another cook in the kitchen! I learned a lot from him.. he was one of those "Cordon Bleu" chefs! Have even thought about opening a restaurant.. but I hope I am never that stupid!)

there.. my life story... minus lots of drama, heartbreaks, foolish choices, and bad decisions!

Hobby, but preserving it has turned into a full time ++ job. Working till 12.30 am some nights. Wife and daughter in law hate my photography and plan to trash it all when I die. I'm getting old and health is poor. So my job has become a job of preservation. I hardly shoot pix any more. All the joy has ben taken out of photography...for now.

Is this thread not in the General Gallery? ;) ;) ;)

And like yourself, propilot, I would call myself nothing but a semi-knowledgeable amateur.