Is This Benro Tripod a Good Deal?

Dazed&Confused

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a beginner photographer and I'm looking for a decent tripod. I saw this today and wanted opinions on what you experts thought:

Is it okay to post links here?

Benro FTF18CIB0 Travel Flat Series 1 Carbon Fiber FTF18CIB0 B&H

If not, the name of the tripod is Benro FTF18CIBO Travel Series Carbon Fiber Tripod with IBO Ball Head

From reading the forums I see that Manfrotto and Benro are often recommended as well as carbon fiber being the preferred material. This seems like a really good deal that expires today but I can't find reviews about this particular tripod combo. Thoughts?

Thanks!

It looks like a good deal to me. If I were shopping for a travel tripod, that is definitely one I would consider.

Thank you! I would have considered the other carbon fiber version that's on sale but it's already sold out. Do you think there are any drawbacks to the fact that it's a travel tripod? I was looking for an all-around tripod since I'm a beginner but since I'm quite short, I guess the light weight is a plus.

Like would a Manfrotto tripod + some kind of ball head be better than this?

Even if you someday decide to purchase a heavier tripod for studio use, you will still have the travel tripod for traveling. I see nothing wrong with the ball head that is part of the deal. Does this tripod extend to the height that you need?

These are nice little units, and relatively well made. I wouldn't mount a pro body & 300 2.8 on that head, but for consumer bodies & kit lenses, it should work very well.

Even if you someday decide to purchase a heavier tripod for studio use, you will still have the travel tripod for traveling. I see nothing wrong with the ball head that is part of the deal. Does this tripod extend to the height that you need?