Last minute advice

kdabbagh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So my friend wants me to be the photographer for a party he's throwing tomorrow at a lounge. He's willing to pay me for my work and to cover any equipment rental charges.

I am still debating whether or not I should do it because I am mostly nervous since I have never done this kind of work before. I only have a Nikon D40x and a Nikkor 50mm 1.8. I've never used one of those mounted flashes nor do I really know how they work, but I am willing to rent one if that's something I'd really need.

Does anyone have any advice? Can I pull this off with my D40x and 50mm? Anyone recommend shooting settings? (Shooting mode, ISO, White Balance, etc.) Or do I need to invest in renting some equipment. I don't expect he'll be paying me much so if you have any suggestions, keep a limited budget in mind. :)

Thanks in advance for any suggestions...

The fact that you're nervous and ask very basic questions means you should do one of the following:

1. Don't do it.

2. Do it, but don't receive payment. And set the low expectation with your friend. Tell him the truth about your new and coming skills.

If you do either, you will not have a problem with your friend. If you had more time to learn and practice then giving you advice today would make a lot of sense. But it is the 11th hour and for that reason alone, I would choose #1 or #2 above.

A party shoot is not as important as a wedding, but still, if your gut feeling shows insecurity in your ability to do it justice, then I would again choose 1 or 2.

Don't take this the wrong way, please. The time to do paid work is not the time to be learning the basics.

Appreciate your honesty and I can see where you're coming from.

I just found out about this last minute (he told me an hour ago pretty much).