Lets say you're having a newborn... your first!

matt62485

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So like the title says, our first baby will be arriving around August 15th! I'm not new to photography anymore, however I am new to portraits and newborns! :lol: I've done a lot of reading, but wanted to get some TPF input. If it were you, and you having all the time/occasions to setup/learn with your own child... what would you have equipment/prop wise? I've done a ton of reading, and come down to a few things.

Current equipment is : d7000, 50/1.8, 18-55 and 55-200 kit lenses, and sunpak flash listed in sig

First off, I know natural light is best for babies, but my wife is getting me the kit below for my birthday so I can learn a little about lighting... so if theres some tips for using these lights with babies please forward them my way! I will eventually get a set of battery packs for these as well.

Flashpoint FP320MPWK Portrait Wedding Monolight Kit FP320MPWK

Also, I figure a reflector kit of sorts, still learning/deciding on which. Suggestions welcome.

What other "must haves"? My time is getting limited and I'm trying to get a list of things to order together for when she arrives and I'm getting right overwhelmed with trying to make up my mind. I guess being my own child, and our first I'm putting a lot of un-needed pressure on myself.

In short, if you were doing a newborn shoot with your own child (time wont be limited is my point) what would you bring/have?

Do you know if it's a boy or a girl?
There's a lot of cute costumes out there: I would start there. If it's a girl, always with the fairy wings, angel wings, etc.
A favorite plush toy? Teddy bear, blocks, maybe a toy that you used to play with when you were younger
Blocks with the name written on it.

I find that as important as the photo equipment is, the background that you are creating, and the elements you are using are even a bigger part of it!