Lets talk apature and shutter speed!

mattydipps

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay guys I'm pretty new at this.... Very new at this, I've had my d60 for a month now I have a 18-55 lens that came with the camera and a 55mm 1.8 lens... I've been playing around with shutter speed and apature on the tripod fixed at one point (obviously. When do I need a longer shutter speed and why? And same with apature....

books are written. Your question is vague.

Aperture
Shutter Speed
ISO . ......... .... .... .....these 3 things = Exposure Triangle

It's all about the light.

When it's necessary.

There are very few definites in photography, and exposure isn't one of them. Your shutter speed affects the amount of light that gets to the sensor by limiting the time the sensor is exposed to light. High shutter speeds are used either in very bright conditions, or to freeze movement. Lower speeds are used to either allow more light in, or to show movement (usually as blur). Aperture controls the amount of light getting to the sensor by changing the size of the hole, or aperture in the lens. A large aperture (small f#) allows a lot of light in, but produces very shallow depth of field, desirable in portrait work. A small aperture (large f#) allows much less light in and produces a much greater DoF - desirable for landscapes.

Those are VERY general examples only.

books are written. Your question is vague.

Aperture
Shutter Speed
ISO . ......... .... .... .....these 3 things = Exposure Triangle

It's all about the light.

I have a couple books I'm in the process of reading but I can't ask the book questions haha

Ive been experimenting shooting a couple people sitting near a wall unit in my living room and I'm getting fairly similar results with a number of different iso, aperture, and shutter speed numbers