lighting

ella

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am still fairly new to photography and was hoping if someone could help me out on lighting...

I find that a lot of my photos come out really clean, clear and vivid when I use natural light. I love the effect indoors I can get when the light pours in from the window onto an object, especially on a bright day.
When there is no natural light, or the lighting is poor, my photos come out very dull, and still not as good as they could be after adjusting levels/brightness/contrast etc in Pshop. In some light conditions, if I use a flash, it just drowns a photo and it can be totally over-exposed, and if I don't use a flash then the lighting is awful.
I'm not familiar with apature (sp?) or shutterspeed settings, though I gather they have some effect on the lighting of a photo? I have also heard people say "I let the camera select the shutterspeed" Could someone explain what this means?
The camera I have is a Canon Powershot A70. Anyone familiar with this make/model?

Thanks for any help!

Welcome Ella,

First thing you should do is to learn about exposure. There are some good books but you could probably find some good info around here. Once you learn how shutter speed and aperture affect exposure, you have an advantage.

Basically, the aperture is the hole in the lens that light comes through. Measured in F\stops. The smaller the number the bigger the hole. Shutter speed is how long the shutter stays open. Usually fractions of a second 1/60 or 1/125 ext. Your camera may just show the denominator 60, 125 etc. They are inversely related...if you close down the aperture, you have to keep the shutter open longer to compensate.