Long Exposure

Marc32

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I will never stake claim to being the world's best photographer, but I have apparently been bitten by the photography bug. I'm a long time artist (drawing, woodworking/woodturning among different mediums I've worked with) who bought a new Panasonic DMC-FZ100 after a few months of research as an upgrade from a 5 yr old simple Koday point and shoot. The main purpose of the camera was to be able to take better photos of my woodworking projects and have a better zoom. So far, the FZ100 has far exceded my expectations and I have started to really enjoy taking landscape pictures. The zoom is fantastic, pictures are a far far far upgrade from my Kodak, and the features are (for the most part) easy enough for a novice to get the hang of in a short amount of time. So I'm finding myself at the introduction of long exposure photography. The camera operates with a starry night feature of 15, 30 and 60 second exposure. It also has a manual setting from 1/2500 to 8 second. Specifically, I'd really like to try my hand at taking a waterfall with the moving, misty water effect. I do have a good tripod, remote shutter release, and a ND4 and ND8 filter. From what I've read, taking long exposure in daylight can be a trick. But set an ISO at 100 and play around with the shutter speed and ND filters until you get it right based on the scene and light conditions. My question to the more experienced photographers is what else do I need to be thinking about to make a picture come out nice? I'd like to be able to enlarge them to 16x20 or so and do some various artistic tricks with the final print...like cut the photo into 3 pieces and hang it on the wall with an inch or so between each. Can I even pull this off with my camera? Granted it's not a DSLR or Hasselbad, but seems like the pixel count and MOS sensor should do the trick well enough start to get the hang of it. Anyone who's done a lot of this