Looking For Suggestions (Purchasing A New Camera)

battylittlesister

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey there,

I'm a Graphic Artist and I'm beginning to take an interest in taking photographs. Right now I'm using a Fujifilm Finepix Z and it's a decent camera, but I'm looking for a nice but affordable camera to start taking professional quality photos. The problem with the camera I have now is the photos don't always come out clear or crisp and sometimes look grainy or foggy. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

What is your price range? From my experience, you are going to get stinkers w/out of focus subjects no matter what camera you have...I probably toss %50 of pictures I take....90% if I'm being really picky. A better camera will certainly give you better low-light capabilities, and thus less grain however.

Last edited:
A common misconception many amateur photographers have, is that professional quality photographs are strictly a property of the camera used to take a picture.

Professional quality photos are more a function of the photographer than the camera, though it needs to be noted that professional photographers most often use supplimental lighting to make images, even when working outdoor in 'natural' light.

So, to take professional quality photo's, you need to understand the technical aspects of photography, and then using that knowledge be able to produce the lighting, composition, and framing professional photographers do.

In other words, a professional photographer could make professional, or very nearly professional quality photographs, with the camera you currently own.

A base, entry-level dSLR camera with a standard kit lens will cost about $550 new (Nikon D3000 kit) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/635660-REG/Nikon_25462_D3000_SLR_Digital_Camera.html

as will the equivelent Canon XS: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/571144-REG/Canon_2762B003_EOS_Rebel_XS_SLR.html