Looking to learn with 35mm before going to dSLR

fdiddy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to the technical aspect of photography but am very passionate about good photography and love to take pictures. I was looking at diving into a dSLR and then thought that I would love to learn photography from the ground up. I'd like to buy a 35mm SLR.

I like the idea of MF so that I can really work at doing everything myself, but don't know enough about the difference between MF and AF to make that decision.

The last thing that is high on my priority list (if it's at all possible) is to make sure that the lenses I will be buying for my 35mm will work with a dSLR that I undoubtedly will buy in the future. I prefer the style of Canon and Sony dSLRs but if Nikon makes lens interchangeability easier it's not a deal breaker.

I'm 100% on starting with 35mm, I will not buy a dSLR now, please don't recommend that I might as well just start with one.

Thanks for all of your knowledge and help.

Go to wikipedia and check out the Canon and Nikon lens mounts over the years.

That will give you an idea of which lenses will work with both film bodies and digital bodies

Sony means Minolta AF 35mm SLR bodies. Canon means the last few remaining Canon 35mm SLR bodies made before they stopped producing film cameras. This information is of course, based on the ability to use the lenses from a 35mm film camera on a future digital slr body.

You want Manual Focus? Flip a switch and move from AF to MF.

And have fun paying $12 for every 36 pictures you take as you learn. Around the $5,000 point, you will have managed to make about 415 trips to the lab, 415 trips back home, and probably 200 trips to by film. SO, by the time you've spent $6,000 on film,processing, and drop-off and pick-up plus film purcahsing trips, you'll have learned as much in a year as you could in a month with a $550 Nikon D40 kit.