Lost out on a job because of price...would you have accepted this?

^ So you would do that job for $65 total?

I'm just a dumb electrician, but if I'm offered $65 for ANY electrical work (no matter how minor), my van keys will stay right on the kitchen counter. I suspect if I actuated shutters for a living and accepted commission work, the keys would still be on the kitchen counter.

It doesn't MATTER if he would do the job for $65 total.
It only matters whether YOU would do the job for $65.

You're second-guessing yourself here, Parker.
I suspect you KNEW they would reject your offer to do this shoot for $650, 10x what they'd quoted. I suspect that what you were hoping to do was to simply get them to see that they were asking for a lot more than they seemed to think.
It didn't work, but you tried.

The thing is, there is ALWAYS someone out there willing to do jobs like that--for $100, for $65, for $50...heck, they'll do it free, for the "exposure."

Who cares? It just doesn't MATTER whether someone else will do that job for the price offered. If you'd taken that job for $65, you'd be kicking yourself for it. So just be thankful that you had better sense than that, and move on.

Now, the secondary issue is: Did you quote too high a price for them to even CONSIDER meeting you in the middle. Yeah, you did. And again, I suspect you knew that. That tells me that you understood that even if they agreed to a higher price, there was no way they were going to pay what you would require to do the job.

I think what you're asking is what SHOULD be a "fair price" for a job like that. But again, the answer is: It doesn't matter.