Macro Sony a6000 questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndyB.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, completely new to this forum here!
I'm not really new to photography but I don't understand a lot of the technical things and I'm just getting into macro. I've got a Sony a6000 and I've been wanting to take macro/extreme macro photography of insects and arachnids like jumping spiders, flies, etc. I have a few questions on how to go about this. Should I get the Sony 30mm f/3.5 macro lens or should I just get some cheap kit of 10mm and 16mm extension tubes? Is it a good idea to get both? I've heard that with the macro lens you have to get really close to the subject and that the extension tubes actually help that. Also, what should I do for a flash? Is a ring flash a good idea? Thanks and sorry for the noob questions... gotta start somewhere!

With macro lenses, the longer the focal length ... the larger the min focus distance.
The 30mm is 95mm, while the 90mm is 280mm.

With macro lenses, the longer the focal length ... the larger the min focus distance.

Thanks. So would the extension tubes give me a longer min focus distance if I put them on the body with the 30mm lens? I've also noticed that lost macro photographers use a flash that goes around the camera with a diffuser on it instead of using a ring flash. Are there any pros to this? Is the light softer?

The Extension Tube does the opposite, it lowers the MFD.
I can't give you much info on flash use ... I avoid using them (just a personal thing) ... but for insects it does give you hand to increase shutter speed.

It's pretty confusing to work through, until you get used to it. I use terminology that (often? hopefully?) helps to explain, even if it's not technically proper from an academic perspective.

Longer focal length moves the lens farther from the sensor. Extension tubes *also* move the lens farther from the sensor.