Macro Tubing

pisto1981

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I would like to be able to take sharper and more zoomed in macro pictures with my current d3100 and kit lens.

I can't afford a macro lens at the moment but was surfing the net and came across extensions tubes.

My questions;

Will a extension tube work on my kit lens? How does it connect?

Will it make a big enough difference to warrant the purchase?

How much should i be spending?

And any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any feedback

I have no experience with extension tubes but, I have used a Raynox 1.5 and they work very well with kit lenses. Just snap it on your lens and away you go. Raynox DCR-150 Snap-On Macro Lens

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Thanks greybeard. will look into your suggestion

Extension tubes will work with your kit lens.. but please buy good extension tubes with full electrical connections if you go that route.

The really cheap ones Fotodiox 10-MCR-CN-Kit Canon EOS Macro Extension Tube Set Kit for Extreme Close-Up: Camera & Photo take away several important functions.

The Kenkos are recommended Amazon.com: Kenko Auto Extension Tube Set DG 12mm, 20mm, and 36mm Tubes for Nikon AF Digital and Film Cameras - AEXRUBEDGC: Camera & Photo but there are some midrange tubes that do have electrical connectors that will probably be ok.... Amazon.com: Vivitar VIV-EXT-C 3-Set Extension Tubes for Canon: Camera & Photo

The Raynox that Greybeard recommended also does an excellent job. I have the DCR250.. Amazon.com: Raynox DCR-250 Super Macro Snap-On Lens: Electronics and it does a very nice job, see below:

Fleshfly (family Sarcophagidae) by CGipson Photography, on Flickr

cgipson, thanks for your response also. I think im going to go down the Raynox road. Not sure i like the idea of all the extension tubes making the camera heavier and more likely to knock. Thanks though for the links. BTW, that fly is amazing