Making an image a specific size (physical AND file)

Involute

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have an application requiring a number of digital images (JPEGs) which are all the same physical AND file size, e.g. 2" x 2" and 54,321 bytes. Any tips on how I can take existing images and make them conform? I have some basic facility with Photoshop but I'm by no means an expert. Maybe make all the images the same physical size in Photoshop, then add text to EXIF to the smallest ones to bring all of them up to the same size as the largest (any limits on how much data can get stuffed into EXIF)? I don't know. Thanks.

Makes no sense what you're asking. The bytes 54321 are not set as image parameters but by compression quality, and the size 2" x 2" is meaningless without knowing how many dots per inch you have.

what strange application would need exactly the same file size?

and as mentioned, the print size quoted in the file data does not have any meaning. well, you can set it to whatever you want of course using photoshop.

as for the file size, you should contact the person who invented the application and tell him to drop that limitation.

Sorry for the lack of detail; I was trying to keep the post simple. I'm thinking of making a variant of a CAPTCHA access control application (to distinguish between a human and a computer) where the user will be presented with several photos and must identify the ones with a certain characteristic (e.g. "check all the pix containing a cat"). Image size, dpi, and file size must be the same for all the pix in the database, otherwise a human could record that data, note the characteristics (essentially a fingerprint) for the cat photos, and store them in a program intended to spoof the system.