Manual Mode and Exposure Meter

Tish

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello :D I just joined. I hope my first question isn't too dumb :blushing: but I am a complete beginner and the Nikon D60 is my first SLR.

I tried the manual mode to take some photos in the garden. I set the apperture at f/5.6 and the shutter speed at 1/60 and an ISO of 100 but the photos were dark so I tried some different combinations and ISO settings. Because it was an overcast day I tried to use a bigger aperture (f/4) to let light into the lens and various shutterspeeds and ISO.

I tried to use the exposure meter but found it very difficult to get it to the centre point.

Can anyone give some tips i.e. what manual settings would you use to take photos on an overcast day?

not without being there. assuming this is hand held you will need a reasonably fast shutter or there will be camera shake. also it depends what the meter is telling you as it may be in spot metering mode whereas a scene may be better in matrix mode. if it is a dark day you may be better on a tripod as you can use along shutter and lower iso etc. bear in mind when you set ur exposure it should be overexposed for bright things and under for dark things.

Try taking some shots in auto mode and see what those settings were and then trying that in manual. It might help some. Sometimes certain lenses such as kit lenses do poorly in low light on the settings you mentioned. If you were to keep your largest aperature open and boost your iso till your meter balanced and you had a fast enough shutter speed to minimalize camera shake. Good luck.

Which of the 3 metering modes was your D60 set to? Spot, Center-weighted, or Matrix? See pages 62 and 63 of your D60 Users Manual.

Assuming the meter indicators are still at the default with over exposure to the left of center and under exposure to the right: