Marine Corps Ball Cap, not an official Cover Jarhead.....

DaPOPO

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
goldshieldphotos.photoreflect.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, as a Marine Corps Vet, I was given a Marine Corps Ball Cap. I decided to try and take some pictures of it. I set it on glass and folded Old Glory underneath...

I bought some of those Magmod grids and attached them to my flashes. I was actually pretty happy with the way they controlled the light...

So... I am happy with the various lighting, but I am not pleased that I couldn't figure out how to make the reflection of the cap go away... After I put everything away, I remembered I should have angled the glass away from the camera and that might have worked....

I purposely put the flag underneath and angled it down towards the camera, but the ball cap looks like it is floating in the air and not sitting on something...

Not bad for a first go at it, but it can be better.... CC if you want...

untitled-2801-Edit.jpg

untitled-2815-Edit.jpg

untitled-2851-Edit.jpg

untitled-2866-Edit.jpg

untitled-2875-Edit.jpg

untitled-2876-Edit.jpg

Nice job.
I'd imagine that angling the lights won't get rid of all the reflection as the cap surface is curved. Maybe try a polarizer, too.

I'd say skip the glass, since it is giving you difficulty.

It might help if we knew more about the reason for the the glass between the flag and the cap? It's going to be difficult to eliminate all the reflections in one shot. You might try a shot of the flag & glass only. Then a shot of the hat only on a 18% gray background and merge them in Ps. Set the layer mode to Overlay and adjust the blend if sliders as required.

Edit: sorry got in a hurry. The hat should be on the bottom layer, flag on top. Use a white mask on the flag Layer, and a soft black brush set to 100% to remove any flag on the hat.

Last edited: