Minneapolis Skylines

paulzeee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! New here, thought I would post some of my work to learn something from the tenures. I'm new to owning a DSLR (3 months in so far) so I'm always looking for tips and tricks. I usually shoot at ISO200 F/10-13 with varying shutter speeds for the night time long exposures. Nikon D90 paired with a 35mm 1.8/g Here are some of my latest shots:

Stone Arch Bridge by paulzeee, on Flickr

If I were better at Photoshop the power lines would be removed

Stone Arch Bridge by paulzeee, on Flickr

Minneapolis Skyline by paulzeee, on Flickr

Hennepin Ave. Suspension Bridge by paulzeee, on Flickr

Saint Paul Skyline by paulzeee, on Flickr

Thanks for looking!

Nice shots! I'd try to clone out the power lines.

BTW, you need to clean your sensor.

I've thought the same thing. A few of those shots have the light blobs, and some don't (if that's what you're referring to). I was told it's because of all the different light sources? I'm not sure. That's something that needs to be sent in to be done, correct?

You've got the same dust spots show up in several of the images.

cleansensor01.jpg

Ah! Good eye, thanks. I can see the same spot in a few as well.

You really need to learn how to remove those power lines. they just killed so many of your pictures. Way too many pictures to CC, so I'll just pick a few of my personal favorites. Pic 1 is a strong composition, and nicely exposed (minus the wires). Out of pics 6,7, & 8, 6 is the best of the set. Nicely composed, super reflection in the water, the curving roadway add symmetry, and the night sky still has tone variation. You do need to do some editing to remove those two light dots in the sky.