Monitor calibration for printing

Photonurse62

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
My question is about printing. I use Photoshop cc for editing on my MacBook pro laptop. I have done what I thought was calibrating my monitor based on Apple guidelines, however, my pictures still come out either to dark or just completely off. (I send them to a lab) I just don't think I have a good understanding of how to get what I see on my monitor to look the same as my prints. 1. Do I need to buy some other equipment/software to calibrate my monitor differently than what I have done through Apple guidance. 2. Even if I do calibrate in another way, how do I know if the lab will be using the same type calibration. 3. Do I need to buy my own printer? I don't even know if I'm asking this the right way. I have been a photographer for years but just started printing and this is the most confusing topic I have ever tried to understand. I have researched and read as much as I can and no-one has the same advise. All I want is to have my prints look like my photos after editing in photoshop. I need some very serious help and advise because I'm becoming really discouraged.

The guidelines that let you do this by eyeballing it aren't very good. You have a couple of choices.

I picked up an X-Rite "Colormunki Photo" which is a hardware devices that accurately calibrates my monitors, printers (really printer/ink/paper combinations because different papers absorb different inks uniquely) and it even calibrates projectors (although I don't use projectors). It's about a $350 device.

But since you're not doing your own printing, you don't necessarily need a device that can do printer calibration.

The X-Rite Colormunki Display only calibrates displays (not printers... the Colormunki Photo calibrates displays and printers).
The DataColor Spyder is a competing product and comes in a few versions ... and there are versions that only calibrate displays.