My Canon 50mm 1.8 is maybe not as sharp as it should be?

NickStevens

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Guys

Could I get some advice on this ASAP as if it is a faulty lens it can go back to the store today.

I was holding out for a 1.4, but a 1.8 came along today at a good price, so I went ahead and got it.

Used it for the first time tonight, wanted to try and get some serious blurred backgrounds on some karaoke singers, which did kinda work well.

But I was getting a LOT of focused backgrounds and blurred singers in the worst case scenario, and in many somebody standing just 6" behind was blurred, but the person at the front was sharp.
I was also finding that I would focus on the singers face, then they would move forward/back just a couple of inches and blur :x
Now I know about depth of field and I was stopped down to f2.2........I switched to f5.6 and still ended up with some blurred pics and it got kinda annoying (this is my first time out with a fast lens btw)

The lens also dosnt seem razor sharp even when its perfectly focused....

So do I have a faulty one........is it just a crap lenes.......or is it me?

If the lens is ok, and I should be getting better results, I think I have some options:
1) Use a higher apature to give more room for a little movement and or somebody else being slightly off the focal plane.
2) Use a faster shutter speed? (I was using around 1/10, and using second curtain flash to freeze.)

Can anybody offer advice at how best to do this, bearing in mind the light is poor and theirs nightclub lights screwing with the exposure all the time too.

Well the DoF is very thin as you know. If you were in focus and the singer moved out of the DoF before you took the picture, that's clearly not a lens issue.

What i would suggest is testing it on something static first - select the central focus point only and go take a bunch of photos of static objects and see if it really is focusing all over the place.