My new favorite hobby.

IronMaskDuval

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I can't believe that I finally found a cheap hobby, and it's actually cheap! Ever since I started shooting with an mft system, I started to use legacy lenses, primarily Minolta MD lenses. I loved the form factor of the mft, but I hated the god awful 4:3 aspect ratio. I took a break from photography for a bit so that I could recollect myself and try to cure myself of GAS. Since I've been back, I decided to dive straight into mirrorless once again, and I bought a Sony A7.

To be honest, I'm glad that I got the dslr kick and GAS out of the way, because I think the A7 will be my permanent camera for years to come. I shoot primarily portraits and candids, so I loved the full frame form factor and the awesomeness of subject background separation that it gives. Moreover, I love the quasi retro look of the A7, but mostly, I love the fact that I can shoot and make full use of legacy lenses and that's where the cheap hobby comes in.

My wife loves to go to every antique and thrift store in town. I absolutely hate it and am dreadful of the thought of the weekend coming up, because it meant that I would have to go. Well, these days, going is a joy, because I always find wonderful manual lenses that so many people pass by because they do not know any better, or their cameras are no better off with them.