Need help deciding on a Nikon!!!!

tatumheiser

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey everyone! I feel like i have been searching and searching for decades trying to decide which camera/lens would be best. I decided to join a forum site to get real input:) anyway, im no pro by any means and have only used a nikon d3000 although, i do know a decent amount about digital slr's. im currently expecting a baby & will mainly be photographing her. i am hoping to set up a small home studio and do her portraits and such myself.. but i also would like to be able to take action shots of her as she gets older! my budget for camera body &&&&& at least one decent all around lens would be around $1500. I know this isnt much, but im not doing photography for money so i dont need the BESTTTT of the best. i do want something decent that will last me a while thought. please help! THANKS! :)

Nikon D90 with kit lens and an SB600. Get a few books, and save the rest of your money for when you start running into some limitations and know a bit more about where you want to see better results.

Just my .02

Kerbouchard gave a good answer. I used to own a Nikon D90 with 18-105 and SB-900 and very happy with the result I got. Make sure to spend some times on your flash because firing it straight to the subject won't always give you the best result - at least bouncing it off something will dramatically increase the dimension of the picture.

Next to the D90, look for a good lense. Within your budget. The 18-105 is ok, but there are more lenses. There a lots of places where you van read what lense you could buy for your money. When shooting indoors, you don't need a great tele or tele zoom lense. The D90 (but the D7000 too) has a commander mode for the flash, so you could do amazing flash things with it, with just one extra Nikon flash like the SB900 or SB800.