Need help please....total beginner here.

Steve B72

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been doing sports photography for the last few years...I stepped up to a D500 but starting to think it's too much camera for me and simply don't know how to use it correctly. My pictures seem to be in focus, but grainy at the same time. I'm using a Sigma 150-500mm 1:5-6.3APO. Aside from that, I seem to have to set the F stop to 20 or 22 to get the photos to be light proportionate. If I set it to 5.6, it's way too bright and there's no discernible image. Please help and talk in 5 yr old lingo....I might be able to be helped. Thank You in advance.

Aside from that, I seem to have to set the F stop to 20 or 22 to get the photos to be light proportionate. If I set it to 5.6, it's way too bright and there's no discernible image.

Hmm, there is something about that statement you made ... if that is the case, then you are not using the equipment properly.

Your camera has exposure modes: P A S M -- where is your's set? How (auto/manual) and where is the ISO set?

Joe

Your camera has exposure modes: P A S M -- where is your's set? How (auto/manual) and where is the ISO set?

Joe
Thanks so much Joe...the ISO was set crazy high. Now it functions the way I think I want it to. I'll be trying it out here later today. Thanks for the heads up. I have it set in M mode.

Joe
Thanks so much Joe...the ISO was set crazy high. Now it functions the way I think I want it to. I'll be trying it out here later today. Thanks for the heads up. I have it set in M mode.

Why do you have the camera set to M mode? Shooting sports how about S (shutter priority)?

Joe

DSLRs basically all work the same no matter at what level they are at- higher level models have more options and more features and often more jpeg auto editing features, but the core of any exposure remains the same through them all.