Need Help Selecting A Lens

jporter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am posting because I need help selecting a lens. I am new to the pro photo world and am having trouble selecting a lens to suit my needs. I own a Canon T3i and have a variety of subject matter because I am a photojournalism student. I'm in the market for a wide angle lens and the lenses I'm looking at are the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM and the Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM. I'm not sure which to get because by reading the specs, I can't tell which would be the most versatile. As I said, I'm relatively new to the scene so any assistance you all can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Well, I am pretty sure you own a kit lens (18-55mm). What do you think of that lens? Is it not wide enough? What are you using the lens for?

Those are two pretty different lenses. The 10-22 is a landscape lens and the 16-35 is more for portraits. I know a few wedding photographers that use it because of its versatility. We really need to know what you are shooting to help you. I'm thinking you want a walk around that's wide enough for landscapes. If that's the case take a look at the 17-55 2.8 canon. It's a fantastic crop sensor lens. I had it on the t3i and it rarely came off. I would still have it if I didn't go full frame. But once again what are you going to shot?

I would not consider the 16-35 a portrait lens at all…..

If you are in the market for a wide lens then get the widest lens you can get. The wide angle lens are typically used for landscape, city scape and interior photos and or getting interesting distorted views. They are very fun to use. I have owned two one for the crop sensor which was the 12-24 tokina for crop sensor and the 14-24 2.8 nikon for full frame.