Need help setting up a Canon T3i for long-term timelapses

WhyNotVideos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey there,
I want to do long-term timelases (2-4 weeks).
Its all going to be indoors, the camera and the object are going to be in a big white box with LED lighting 24/7. I've already taken care of the power supply, I've installed Magic Lantern on the T3i and I have 64GB SD card. From what I've read, I want to shoot in RAW. Is that 64GB going to be enough? I will be shooting at 10 minute intervals, thats around 1000 shots per week. Should I buy 128GB? I dont want to change SD cards while shooting because Im afraid it will show in the final product, no matter how stable the tripod is.

This is where I need your help.
Im a complete newbie, but ive done some research on what is ISO, Aperture etc but its all a mess in my head. I get that it takes alot of reading and practice to get an understanding and feel for it all, but im not after a photography career and I dont have the time to practice, I just need someone to help me set it up once and I will just use it like that for all my timelapse projects...
Everytime its going to be the same lighting, same background, just the object im going to shoot is going to be different. So i figure, I just need to set it up once and its all going to be good for the future projects, right?
I read about a guy who did something similar, he didnt give away any tips on camera settings, just said he overexposes and plays with the brightness in post production. No idea what this means?
Anyway, if somebody is willing to help me with some tips and pointers, what should be up, what should be down, I would be very thankful.

Thanks in advance!

1 - take a photo in RAW. Check the file size.
Divide the 64GB by the file size to determine the maximum files the card can contain.
I think you'll have to swap cards unless you have dual card slots.