Need help with indoor architectural shots

LittleMike

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I work at a custom cabinet shop that specializes in high-end, million dollar homes. I talked to the owner today after work, and asked him if he would be interested in getting any pictures of the work we do after it has been installed in the homes. He got very excited and said they have hired photographers to do it in the past, but havn't had any do it in quite some time. He and one of the co-owners started thinking of a few nearby jobsites they could send me to in the coming month to see how I do. They said if they liked my work, they would continue to use me for any of their upcoming jobs they want to use for advertising.

But herein lies my problem...I've never done this kind of photography before :lmao: I know I have a lot to learn, and have thrown myself into a sink or swim situation, but I am determined to make this work. Most of my experience lies in scenic, but I have done some portraits and stock-car racing as well. I am thinking of trying pull principles from those that will help me with this. For example, in a kitchen I would want to use the island as a foreground, while thinking of the upper cabinets as "mountains" I would look for in the distance with scenery. Or if I wanted to highlight the hardware, I think it would be geared more towards portraits and shallow depth of field. I am learning about how to form leading lines, which is really going to be a key factor in this.

I guess I have several questions about this kind of work. I have a fairly good knowledge of photography in general, but this seems to be a little different. For example, I've seen several uses of symmetry rather than the rule of thirds.

Another question that arrises is the height from which the picture is taken. From what I have seen, if you are trying to showcase an entire room the picture is generally taken from eye-level, right?